This year more than 200 individuals across the airport community were nominated in the 2019 Melbourne Airport Excellence Awards.

Congratulations to Nadia Francken, from Cathay Pacific Airways, who is the winner of the major prize for the night – the Chairman’s Award for Excellence. Nadia's leadership and contribution to the successful Cathay Pacific self-service bag drop and kiosk check-in project was invaluable. The project's positive impact on the customer experience and the improvements that Nadia implemented, which now sees 83% of Cathay passengers using the new system, caught our Chairman's eye and has resulted in Nadia receiving this year's top award and the major prize of $5,000. Bravo, Nadia!

Congratulations also to Matthew Loughnan, from dnata Airport Services, who received the Marc Storti Award for Safety and the other major prize of $5,000. Matthew was recognised for his leadership efforts to materially improve the safety of the airfield. Well done, Matthew!

Melbourne Airport thanks the individuals, teams, organisations and volunteers for their contribution to making an airport that Melbourne can be proud of.

Nominations are now open for the Melbourne Airport Excellence Awards. Nominate now! 

Excellence Awards Highlights

2019 Melbourne Airport Excellence Awards winners

Chairman’s Award for Excellence

Nadia Francken
Cathay Pacific Airways

Excellence in Commercial Transport

Lisa Goodwin - Skybus

Collected by Matthew Carney, Chief Operations Officer

Commercial Transport Operator of the Year


Excellence in Customer Service

Jackie Lakovska

IKON Services Australia

Excellence in Customer Service - Volunteer

Neil Atherton-King

Excellence in Teamwork & Collaboration

Scott Dullard, Travis Brown, Wendi Pearce & Jill Coppack - Melbourne Airport

Sarah Jacobson - Bevington Group

Excellence in Hospitality Service

Mark Di Donato


Hospitality Venue of the Year

Urban Provodore

Barista of the Year

Jimmy Tran


Excellence in Retail

Chloe Scilio


Retailer of the Year

Australian Produce

Marc Storti Award for Safety

Matthew Loughnan

dnata Airport Services

Spotlight Award

Melbourne Jet Base

Business Partner of the Year

Printing Intelligence

Lounge of the Year

Qantas First

Excellence in Aviation

Nadia Francken

Cathay Pacific Airways

Contract Service Provider of the Year

Programmed Facility Management

Airline of the Year

Japan Airlines