Board of directors

Peter Hay


Appointed July 2019

Mr Hay has a strong background and breadth of experience in business, corporate law, finance and investment banking advisory work, with particular expertise in relation to mergers and acquisitions. He has also had significant involvement in advising governments and government-owned enterprises. Peter’s board experience spans mining and resources, manufacturing, retail, property, and financial services. He is currently Chair of Mutual Trust. He is a former Director on the boards of Vicinity Centres, GUD Holdings, Novion, Myer, ANZ Bank, Alumina and Newcrest Mining.

Dr Raphael Arndt


Appointed August 2019

Dr Arndt is the Chief Executive Officer of the Future Fund having served as the Chief Investment Officer of the Future Fund from 2014 to 2020. He leads a multidisciplinary organisation, managing A$245 billion on behalf of the Commonwealth of Australia. Dr Arndt was previously the Fund’s Head of Infrastructure and Timberland where he was responsible for establishing both the Timberland and Infrastructure investment programs. Dr Arndt is also Chair of the Investment Committee and a Board Member of the Melbourne Lord Mayor’s Charitable Foundation, Australia’s largest community foundation. Dr Arndt started his career as an engineer working with Ove Arup & Partners in Melbourne and London. He holds Engineering and Commerce degrees and a PhD from the University of Melbourne which focused on risk allocated in Public Private Partnerships.

Michael Cummings


Appointed March 2015

Mr Cummings is the Co-Head of Infrastructure at Dexus. In addition to APAC, Mr Cummings is on the boards of Powerco NZ, Endeavour Energy, Opal Health Care and Chair of Evergen. Mr Cummings has over 30 years of international experience in the infrastructure sector – having held senior executive positions in a number of major energy infrastructure companies. Mr Cummings is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and a Chartered Member of Engineering New Zealand.

Danny Elia


Appointed October 2015

Mr Elia is the Global Head of Asset Management at IFM Investors where he is responsible for driving IFM Infrastructure’s asset management strategy across the Australian and Global Infrastructure funds. Previous roles include CEO of South Australian Health Partnerships, Director of Public Private Partnerships for Leighton Contractors, General Manager of Transurban Victoria and Finance Director of Linfox Logistics Asia Pacific. Mr Elia is currently a Director on the board of Committee for Melbourne.

James Fraser-Smith


Appointed September 2016

Mr Fraser-Smith is a senior infrastructure investment professional with over 20 years of experience. As the Head of Unlisted Infrastructure and Timberland at Future Fund, he manages a global portfolio in excess of A$10 billion and leads the team responsible for infrastructure strategy, transactions and asset management. Mr Fraser-Smith represents Future Fund as a Director on the Boards of Melbourne Airport and Amplitel. Mr Fraser-Smith holds Civil Engineering and Commerce degrees from the University of Melbourne and has completed a Master of Applied Finance. He is also a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Talieh Williams


Appointed January 2022

Ms Williams is a senior sustainable investment and ESG executive, having led the investment stewardship teams at both the Victorian Funds Management Corporation and UniSuper. Ms Williams has also worked in sustainability consulting, the oil industry and commercial legal practice. Ms Williams is a Trustee Director at the Shrine of Remembrance, sits on the Climate Bonds Standards Board and has previously been a director of the Australian Council of Super Investors, the Responsible Investment Association of Australasia and the Investor Group on Climate Change. Ms Williams holds a Master of Social Science (International Development), a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) and a Bachelor of Planning and Design (Urban Design).

Samantha Lewis


Appointed October 2022

Ms Lewis is a full time Non-Executive Director of Aurizon.  In addition to Aurizon, Ms Lewis is a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit & Compliance Committee of Orora Limited, Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit & Risk Committee of Nine Entertainment Co. Holdings Limited and Chairman of APRA's Audit and Risk Committee.  Previously, Ms Lewis was an Assurance & Advisory partner from 2000 to 2014 with Deloitte Australia. 

Ms Lewis has extensive financial experience, including as a lead auditor of a number of major Australian listed entities and has significant experience working with clients in the manufacturing, consumer business and energy sectors.  In addition to external audits, Ms Lewis has provided accounting and transactional advisory services to other major organisations in Australia. Sam's expertise includes accounting, finance, auditing, risk management, corporate governance, capital markets and due diligence. 

Michael Faulkner


Appointed November 2023

Michael is Managing Director, Transport at Dexus and leads the Dexus Infrastructure Transport team. He has over 15 years experience in infrastructure, across transport, energy and core-plus infrastructure sectors and the origination, execution and asset management lifecycle of large-scale infrastructure investments. He was previously a senior member of the investment team at HRL Morrison & Co with prior roles at KPMG, Macquarie Capital and Wood Mackenzie. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce Degree from the University of Sydney, is a Chartered Accountant, a Charterholder of the CFA Institute and a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He is a current Non-Executive Director of Port Hedland International Airport and a former Non-Executive Director of ElectraNet, Sydney Desalination Plant, Perth Energy and Macarthur Wind Farm.